A Rose (9:45)

A Rose is an abstracted and condensed interpretation of the passion of Christ. It’s like the children’s story version: simple, short, and to the point, and with an emphasis on the triumph of spirit over matter.  The piece moves through seven phases of the story: Prayers and Visions – peaceful communion, gathering strength, ominous visions (1:30) Arrest and Condemnation – arrest, trial and condemnation (1:10) Death March – heavy and slow, a painful journey (1:05) On the Cross – nailing, delirium, surrender, forgiveness, crying out (1:30) Death and Ascension – spear thrust, death, earthquake and darkness, spirit rises up (1:00) Transfiguration – stirring and forming, the call to return, descent (1:35) Reappearance – final words and reactions; ascension (1:50)

I just listened to A Rose, and really enjoyed it. You’ve written music that speaks from the orchestral soul, a piece that will sound wonderfully and is practical as well. The music is lyrical, rich in orchestral nuance and color, expressive.

Bruce Stark

I could imagine an audience enjoying imagining where they are in the passion story… the earthquake is a good marker!  This is really very evocative and yet sophisticated- narrative and descriptive and yet still very rooted in its own materials and development- program music at its best!

Gregory Youtz
composer and professor emeritus at Pacific Lutheran University

Feel free to download a PDF of the score (currently no charge). To purchase a printed and bound score, with or without parts, or obtain PDF parts, please contact me.

« View All Concert Works

Listen to my music on SoundCloud or YouTube.

© Mark Pritchard/Marpa Music. All rights reserved.